## Section 4.—Federal and Provincial Commissions FEDERAL ROYAL COMMISSIONS\*

Note.—Royal Commissions established in 1949 and 1950 are reported here. This list is in continuance of those in previous Year Books beginning with the 1940 edition, pp. 1108-1110.

Royal Commission on the national development in the arts, letters and sciences; constituted by Order in Council of Apr. 8, 1949; Chairman: Right Hon. Vincent Massey; Commissioners: Arthur Surveyer, Norman A. M. MacKenzie, Georges-Henri Levesque, Hilda Neatby.

Royal Commission appointed to inquire into and report the nature and extent of the damage caused by floods in the Red River Valley, Manitoba; constituted by Order in Council of May 17, 1950; Commissioners J. B. Carswell and D. Bruce Shaw.

Royal Commission appointed to inquire into and report the extent of fire damages to towns of Rimouski and Cabano; constituted by Order in Council of May 17, 1950; Commissioners Brigadier A. Theriault and Edouard Laurent.

## PROVINCIAL ROYAL COMMISSIONS

Note.—Only those Royal Commissions established in 1949 and 1950 are reported here. This list is in continuance of those given at pp. 1222-1223 of the 1948-49 Year Book and pp. 1201-1202 of the 1950 edition.

Newfoundland.—Royal Commission to inquire into the cost of living; Chairman: Frank S. Grisdale; Commissioners: Lewis Ayres and Cyril James; Nov. 29, 1949; report dated Nov. 13, 1950.

**Prince Edward Island.**—Public inquiry into operations of the Fishermen's Loan Board; Commissioner: Judge J. S. DesRoches.

Ontario.—Royal Commission to inquire into and report upon and make recommendations regarding the Workmen's Compensation Act upon subjects other than detail administration; Commissioner: the Hon. Wilfred Daniel Roach; Oct. 6, 1949.

Saskatchewan.—Royal Commission on the coal industry of Saskatchewan; May 31, 1949: Commissioners: Prof. John E. L. Graham, M.A., B.Litt. (Chairman); Robert D. Howland, Ph.D. (Econ.), and Roger C. Carter, B.A., LL.B.

British Columbia.—Royal Commission to inquire into matters relating to the administration of the Workmen's Compensation Board, Sept. 17, 1949. Commissioner: The Hon. Gordon McGregor Sloan, Chief Justice of British Columbia. Commission not completed.

<sup>\*</sup> Commissions constituted under Part I of the Federal Inquiries Act.